All The Music You Want For Free

Free the Music

As of today, you can play full-length tracks and entire albums for free on the Last.fm website.

Oh. My. God.

I’ve never been to Last.fm even though I’d heard of it. I found this proclamation as the lead item on techmeme and decided to give it a try.

I entered the name of a song. It got all confused. Apparently searches must be done by artist’s name or band name.

OK, so I put in the name of a band.

Then the player got confused, said it was having trouble streaming what I wanted to hear.

OK. I selected an alternate track from that band, a song I’d never heard.

Before hitting Play, however, I set up a certain piece of software I have.

I set it to Record.

Then I hit Last.fm’s Play button.

Three minutes later, I had a copy of that song. I played it back. Sounded the same. It might not have, though; there could have been some digital magic to prevent that.

A minute after playback, I had my copy saved as an MP3 with a sample rate of 22050 Hz and a bitrate of 128 kb/s. If I had ripped it from a CD, I would have used a higher bitrate. (I’m not sure if the software I used can do that; I might or might not bother to see.)

Now I can play it as many times as I want.

And that band is screwed.

No more payment after that single play I did.

So no, I won’t say anything about how I did this. It was an experiment. I was checking for DRM. It doesn’t seem to be there. There might be watermarking, though, so anyone who grabs a bunch of stuff and puts it up on P2P is an eejit deserving of the hell they get. So Don’t Do That.

As for that track I ripped? Hang on a bit. There. Sent to the Recycle Bin. Deleted.

And Comments are closed for this post.

I don’t want to be bothered by eejits asking me how to do that. I won’t say.

Artists should be paid.

Their damned landlords are.

Explore posts in the same categories: Music