Apple Now Owns iPod Air Domain

It’s true!

I just got the word in a Comment here from a reader.

Click on this: http://www.ipodair.com and watch where it goes!

Oddly, this Whois record doesn’t state Apple ownership.

Remember, kids, when that baby hits, come to my new blog for all the iPod Air shizzle!

Hey, Steve Jobs, how about a pre-release fondle? I can sign an NDA!

(And yes, I can keep my mouth shut too! You think I want you breathing down my back for the rest of my life?)

Apple eBooks have got to be coming!

Previously here:

Is Apple’s Tablet The iPod Air? — published Wednesday, January 23rd, 2008

Explore posts in the same categories: eBooks, Tech - Apple

8 Comments on “Apple Now Owns iPod Air Domain”

  1. David Dugan Says:

    Mike, I can’t tell if you’re being satirical or not, but anyone can redirect their domain to an Apple webpage. I can buy the domain “ipodsucksbigtime.com” and redirect it to Apple if I wanted to.

  2. mikecane Says:

    No, I’m not being satirical. I know the URL’s owner had been looking to auction it on ebay weeks ago.

    http://ipodair.wordpress.com/2008/01/25/mike-cane-has-this-url/#comment-3

    Why would you put up money to redirect to Apple? Hey, if you’ve got money to waste like that … I’ve got a PayPal account you can dump it into!

  3. David Dugan Says:

    Well, they’re either a) hoping to god that Apple is going to make an iPod Air model so that they can sell the domain to Apple at an exorbitant price, or b) trying to start a juicy “iPod Air” rumor to draw hits to whatever other website they run.

    Either way, if Apple owned the domain, it wouldn’t be hidden. They are a publicly-traded company after all.

  4. David Dugan Says:

    Followup to scenario b… see, that way they can point to the ipodair.com domain being forwarded to Apple’s website as “proof” that their rumor has legs.

  5. mikecane Says:

    OK, I’ve sent an email to the guy who said he owned the domain back then.

    Which, come to think of it, I should have DONE FIRST, before posting this item.

    Ah, well.


  6. […] en Mike Cane 2008 y en […]

  7. Ipodrepublic Says:

    The ipod air does sound like something that could be a name for a future ipod though so it could be a very smart buy.

  8. Ray Duggar Says:

    I get a different entry when i lookup the WHOIS record i get this one..

    Maybe everyone was alittle to early in transition. Looks like a new owner..
    WHOIS
    Registrant:
    Domains by Proxy, Inc.
    DomainsByProxy.com
    15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
    United States

    This is what i’ve see.. Maybe Apple does own it now.. and they may want to stop any rumors until it’s ready for market, then mass market it and reveal it.. until then it may be under raps..

    Good blog though, lots of great information for the possible iPod Air !


Leave a comment