Blog Notes: Should I Change My RSS Feed?

I’ve been reading some of the debate about Shyftr with some concern.

I just don’t like the idea of someone grabbing my stuff and distributing in ways that help them reap profit.

Right now, my RSS feed is set to send out the entire content of posts.

I’m wondering if I should set it to send out only a few lines of summary.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blog Notes

8 Comments on “Blog Notes: Should I Change My RSS Feed?”

  1. Jason Simpson Says:

    If it switches to excerpts instead of full text, I’ll stop reading.

  2. mikecane Says:

    Jason: I’m curious. Do you read it in an RSS reader or are you using one of these services that allow people to swap/share and comment about feeds? WordPress lacks tools to report even the number of people who are choosing RSS to read this, so I have no idea at all how many people are doing that.

  3. ramin Says:

    Ugh. Summary feeds are terrible. When they do show up in my newsreader, most of the time I just skip past them and on to another article.

    Sounds like Shyftr is changing their policies anyway. My vote is to leave it as is.

  4. ramin Says:

    Another suggestion. Not sure if the hosted version of WordPress lets you do this or not, but you can publish your RSS feeds via Feedburner instead of the built-in RSS feature of WordPress. Feedburner gives you a lot more control over RSS and also offers usage statistics.

    Here’s some background: http://codex.wordpress.org/Using_FeedBurner

    Again, not sure if it’ll work with the hosted WordPress. Might want to ask them.

  5. Jason Simpson Says:

    I’m “subscribed” through Google Reader.

    You might be interested in reading about the stats available from Google Reader and Feedburner here:
    http://googlesystem.blogspot.com/2007/10/find-number-of-google-subscribers-for.html

    WordPress’s hosting may not allow for it, but you might want to check out http://www.chrisfinke.com/wordpress/plugins/feed-statistics/ anyway (from a comment at the above article).

    Anyhow, I do hope you keep the full text in your feed. I just find the ‘tease’-type feeds frustrating so I tend to not keep them in my feed reader.

  6. mikecane Says:

    When I was using that Finnish Device of the AntiChrist Incarnate (ramin knows which), I was — before it died (the software, that is) — using the RSS feature. I hated the summary feeds too.

    OK, the public has spoken. I’ll leave the feed as it is. Thanks for commenting!

  7. ramin Says:

    Re: Finnish Device of the AntiChrist Incarnate

    Maybe we can get the Pope to stop by and take them off our hands… :-)

  8. mikecane Says:

    HAHAHAHAHA. Thanks for starting my day off with a laugh, ramin!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

