Podcasting To Get Ginormously Big!

Apple Activates Podcast Downloads in 2.2 Firmware

Podcasting has become one of those things that I’m surprised to learn still exists.

My sampling of it discovered a horrific morass of sub-amateur production values with a very high noise-to-signal ratio and a very low information-to-time-spent value.

Plus, getting them was a pain in the ass.

I don’t want to subscribe and feel the pressure of having to listen. Also, I’m not someone who has iTunes open every day, so things would tend to back up — a sensation I’m certain people who read RSS via Google Reader can sympathize with!

Now it looks like it’s just about official that direct-to-iPhone podcast delivery is coming.

This is going to blast podcasting out of its small niche into ginormous audiences.

I don’t know how podcasts are made available via iTunes (I dimly remember it was, in the past, generally a free and easy-to-do process), but this is something that every writer should investigate (I’m looking at you, Cliff Burns!).

Let me remind you what podcasting did for writer Mark Jeffrey:

His first podiobook, Max Quick 1: The Pocket and the Pendant, has received over 2 million downloads to date.

And that was while getting a podcast was a pain in the ass! Imagine how monstrous the potential will be once Apple makes it tap-tap impulse easy!

(Here I am at the end of this post and I need to add this for the abominable Kindle kultists: STFU about how great wireless delivery is. I get it. I just don’t want that fugly locked-down no-ePub no-public library K!)

Explore posts in the same categories: Books - Other, eBooks, Reference - Tech, Reference - Writing, Tech - Apple, Writers - Living, Writing

4 Comments on “Podcasting To Get Ginormously Big!”

  1. Cliff Burns Says:

    I hear ya, re: iTunes. Only so many hours in the day and just started work on another big project. But with the help of my ever-patient wife I am getting the hang of this here new-fangled technology, my confidence growing. Many things on the horizon, kemo sabe. We both know there are big, big changes ahead in book publishing in the next 3-5 years. I’m gradually getting myself positioned to take advantage of the coming realities and be in good shape to attract readers who want a well-told tale and aren’t fussy about where they find it…

  2. Emma Larkins Says:

    Huh. I admit, I’m with you, I’ve always been somewhat leery of podcasts… I figured you had to use your ipod for them, and my ipod is full of music, so how would I access them? But it seems like it’s worth looking into, especially if you can find a way to professionaly produce them. Does this Mark Jeffrey guy get paid for his podiobooks? Are they distributed as installments, or in one big chunk?

  3. mikecane Says:

    @emma: Podcasts are typically nothing more than MP3 files. They can be listened to with anything that will play an MP3 file: desktop PC, notebook Mac, even a Zune (god forbid!). What really makes them “pod”casts is the method of distribution via RSS and the iTunes Store. I haven’t listened to Mark Jeffrey’s audios yet, so I can’t say. You can ask him on Twitter @markjeffrey

  4. Evo Terra Says:

    Great writeup. And I look forward to seeing what happens now that the iPhone can handle direct-downloads. I also wonder if that will further the confusion that iPods are required for listening, but I suppose that will have to rectify itself over time.

    Thanks for spreading the word about Mark and sparking interest from other writers. Over at Podiobooks.com, we’re trying to mix the audiobook industry with podcasting to form something new. It’s been a grand experiment so far. Here’s to the future!


Leave a Reply

