Kindle Fanboi Gets iPhone Mistress

The Apple Convert

Another factor also came into play last week. While attending the Web 2.0 Summit in San Francisco I got to hear famed venture capitalist John Doerr talk about his passion for the iPhone. At one point, he held his iPhone up and said he believes this platform will ultimately become more important and influential than the PC platform.

Read that last sentence again and let it sink in. Doerr wasn’t saying the PC platform is dying out and the iPhone will one day be more important than it. He’s saying that as revolutionary as the original PC marketplace was (and has been), the iPhone platform is poised to have even more of an impact.

Emphasis added by me.

Well, duh, yeah! Some of us have been saying that since we first fondled the frikkin thing.

[…] I can honestly say I would have been less inclined to buy a Kindle if I already had an iPhone. (Sorry Amazon.)

Yeah, well, beginning in January, those Kindle sales will tank:


iPod Touchbook mockup filched from Rex Hammock’s blog

Now I await his gushing posts once he experiences the majesty of Stanza! And some graphic novels from iVerse Comics.

— via Twitter from KatMeyer

Explore posts in the same categories: Books - Other, eBooks, Tech - Apple, Tech - Other

5 Comments on “Kindle Fanboi Gets iPhone Mistress”

  1. Constable Odo Says:

    The iPod TouchBook is a nice mockup. I think that would be good enough to take Kindle and Sony eBook sales away. As of now, there are still too many users that think the iPhone is not good enough to use as a eBook reader for extended periods due to it’s smallish size. I don’t quite understand it, but I don’t have a Kindle to test this complaint out. I don’t see a good reason to buy a dedicated eBook if I already have an iPhone, but I’m also not a heavy eBook reader. I’m just glad of the fact that the iPhone can take some Kindle sales, but Kindle sales can’t cut into iPhone sales.

  2. Jim Says:

    I think Rex and you have something here. Even beyond the book arena, this could be the transition device between the iPhone and the laptop. Large enough to be read even by old eyes, yet small enough to comfortably carry. Add Bluetooth and an iPhone earbud and you have Internet, phone, newspaper, novel, and light-duty computer in one device. How cool is that! A truly great idea!

  3. mikecane Says:

    Personally, I’d still want a Sony Reader, even with having a Touchbook. I’d never be able to get reading done: the Net would tempt me too much. Like Oscar Wilde, I can resist anything except temptation.

  4. Bruce Hoult Says:

    I have now read about three dozen full length novels on my iPhone. It’s just great. It is *always* with me. I pull it out waiting in line at the coffee shop, eating lunch, waiting for appointments (never read another two year old women’s magazine again!). It’s small enough to always have it, but comfortable enough for my 45 year old eyes to read for hours at a time lying on the couch at home.


Leave a Reply

