A Quote To Learn From

And in the category of ‘Gee, I wish I’d said that…’

Happiness dependent on money or things is not genuine happiness. Happiness based on those items is temporary and requires materialist fuel.

Quoted from an email Steve Salerno of SHAMblog received.

Steve is the author of a must-read book: SHAM: How the Self-Help Movement Made America Helpless. (The first chapter is free at that link!)

shamcover.jpg

SHAM is the acronym for Self-Help Actualization Movement. This is the overarching concept that encompasses people such as Tony Robbins, “life coaches,” the book and movie The Secret, et al.

If you’ve ever encountered that gooey mushiness and needed ammunition to counter it, Steve’s book and blog are excellent weapons (or tools, if you’re of the non-violent stripe).

Now I must use a quote that will rile a reader (and maybe even Steve!):

I’m not saying that because I need anything. I have learned to be content no matter what happens to me. I know what it’s like not to have what I need. I also know what it’s like to have more than I need. I have learned the secret of being content no matter what happens. I am content whether I am well fed or hungry. I am content whether I have more than enough or not enough.

Philippians 4:11-12 (New International Reader’s Version)

See also what I linked to and wrote in my old blog about The Secret:

Redundant Search Terms
The Secret: I Can’t Finish Reading It!
The Secret: Another Bit Of The Real Secret
Quote Of The Day
Another Note About The Secret: Victor Hugo
The Secret: Don’t Be A Sucker
This Is One Part Of The Secret — The Real Secret
Last Night I Saw The Secret On DVD
The Secret Is That They Count On You To Be Stupid
The Secret: Suckers!
The Secret: Law Of (Mal-)Attraction
More On The Secret
The Secret

Explore posts in the same categories: Books - Nonfiction, Quote, Reference - Life, Writers - Living

Leave a comment