Stunning Color Photos Of 1940s NYC

The amount of sky dazzles me. You can’t see that in New York City these days. It was still human scale back then.

Charles W. Cushman Photograph Collection and the Indiana University Archives/Digital Library Program

— via Twitter from FARK

Explore posts in the same categories: Other

3 Comments on “Stunning Color Photos Of 1940s NYC”

  1. Alan Glynn Says:

    Great photos. Amazingly vivid and evocative.

    BTW Mike, glad you liked my novel The Dark Fields so much. My second novel, The Paloma Stripe, was a doppelganger story set in NY, but unfortunately I couldn’t find a publisher for it. The good news is that my third, Winterland, set in Dublin, is being published next year by St. Martin’s Minotaur.

  2. mikecane Says:

    OK, I am sitting here with my jaw dropped open and my eyes tearing up.

    Dear God! Is it *the* Alan Glynn?!! I have been visited by royalty!

    You will now be exposed in a top-level post!!

  3. matt Says:

    Dark Fields, one of the best books I have ever read. Alan Glynn where have you been!!?!?!?!?!?!?!? I have so many questions about Eddie Spinola!


Leave a comment