M. Dylan Raskin: The Curse Of The Writer

The last item in my blog backlog is an email I got from M. Dylan Raskin.

He was interviewed for the upcoming fiftieth anniversary edition of The Monmouth Review.

Here’s a quote:

“I feel like I don’t write unless I’m miserable.” He recalls that his first editor told him, “Raskin, I hope you never get happy on me, man, a happy writer is not a good writer.”

I have more, but I think they’d come charging out of Monmouth to disembowel me.

I don’t want to spoil their surprise.

When they publish it, I’ll tout it here.

To remind everyone …

Raskin has two books:

lnybcover.jpg

Little New York Bastard, which I wrote about in the old blog.

bandanascover.jpg

Bandanas and October Supplies, which I also wrote about in the old blog.

I recommend both of them again. The second one should be bought as two copies — one to give to your mother!

Previously here:

M. Dylan Raskin Interviewed
Uh-Oh. Suits Invading Net Video Space.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books - Nonfiction, Writers - Living, Writing

Leave a comment