Sony Still Shoots Itself In Foot

Sony PRS-505 Update: ePub support is a great post over at the Feedbooks blog that details some of the changes the Sony Reader has undergone with the new firmware upgrade that allows reflowable PDF text (with compliant PDFs) and ePub ebook file support (this last bit would allow me to borrow ebooks from the NY Public Library system!).

The kicker is it once again reminded me that Sony has not ever provided Macintosh support for its Reader.

Adobe Digital Editions, which enables desktop management of those DRMed ePub files, also doesn’t work on Mac OS X.

And that really does kill the Reader for me now.

As soon as I’m able, I’ll be ditching Windows for the Land of Mac OS X.

Whatever doesn’t work with Mac OS X will not exist in my eyes.

Farewell, Sony Reader.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books - Other, eBooks, Tech - Apple, Tech - Microsoft, Tech - Other, Tech - Sony

2 Comments on “Sony Still Shoots Itself In Foot”

  1. Micah Says:

    Actually, there is an OSX version of Adobe Digital Editions and it works great.
    There was a short time when an OSX upgrade broke DE, but Adobe fixed that with an update. It is my app of choice for reading any PDF on my Mac. I also use it for light reading on the plane when I’m multitasking play/work and don’t want to also have my Sony Reader out or when using reference ebooks at my desk. It is unfortunate that the device does not work with OSX for sure, but then I run Parallels so I have a work-around for getting Adobe ebooks onto my Reader. Yes, less than ideal, but works fine for me as I’m constantly using both OS’s anyway.

  2. mikecane Says:

    No, when I ditch Windows, it will be for good. I don’t want it polluting any more digital devices I own.

    I didn’t know about ADE for OS X (obviously), so that comes as good news! Thanks!


Leave a comment